The Shoe Burnin’: Stories of Southern Soul is a collection of the works of 24 diverse, talented southern writers and singers.


Scott Owens was born in Greenwood, S.C., and raised in mill villages and on his grandparents’ small farm. His father was in the military, and the family later moved to Fort Bragg, N.C., and then to Darmstadt, Germany, and Augusta, Ga., where Owens graduated from the Academy of Richmond County.

Owens is the founder of the reading series, Poetry Hickory, author of the poetry column, “Musings,” published in Outlook, editor of Wild Goose Poetry Review, founding editor of 234, former Associate Editor of Southern Poetry Review, Vice President of the Poetry Council of NC and the NC Poetry Society, Founder of The Art of Poetry at the Hickory Museum of Art, and a writer of reviews of poetry collections.

Owens has published more than 110 poems, and many have been nominated for awards including nine Pushcart Prizes and seven Best of the Net Awards. He has also received awards from the Academy of American Poets, the North Carolina Poetry Society, the Poetry Society of South Carolina, the Next Generation Indie Awards, and the North Carolina Writer’s Network. His poem, “So Norman Died of Course,” received a Special Mention from the Pushcart Prize Anthology for 2009, and “On the Days I Am Not My Father” and “Rails” were featured on Garrison Keillor’s The Writer’s Almanac.


For One Who Knows How to Own Land

“The Poems in For One Who Knows How to Own Landare essential to understanding our humanity and its relationship to the Earth. This book will take you through an incredible journey themed on the brutality of rural life, the sanctuaries inside the self, and how in some way, we can be redeemed. The poems are perfect in their detailed descriptions of memory and how each relate to the larger world. Scott Owens is the master of metaphor and symbolism and this book is a shining example of his incredible talent.”

—Kevin Gunn

“These are poems without a drop of manipulative sentimentality. Filled with crystalline memories from a perspective of clear maturity, ‘Breakings’ describes breaking in forms you’ve not given a thought to: not only mirrors and bottles but husbands, children, land and habits. ‘Rails’ is written in an unpretentious voice that brings you in until you are walking those rails as a child, reading dirty magazines and sneaking cigarettes. I read this book at a clip because I didn’t want to put it down, and then again with care and reverence because I didn’t want the poems to end.”

—B. Gabriel


sb_-book_coverThe Shoe Burnin': Stories of Southern Soul (2013)

For One Who Knows How to Own Land (2012)

Something Knows the Moment (2011)

Paternity (2010)

The Fractured World(2008)

Persistence of Faith (1993)