The Shoe Burnin’: Stories of Southern Soul is a collection of the works of 24 diverse, talented southern writers and singers.

Excerpt from The Shoe Burnin': Stories of Southern Soul

“Smash & Grab” by Michael Knight

At the last house on the left, the one with no security system sign staked on the lawn, no dog in the backyard, Cashdollar elbowed out a pane of glass in the kitchen door and reached through to unlock it from the inside. Though he was 99% certain that the house was empty—he’d watched the owners leave himself—he paused a moment just across the threshold, listened carefully, heard nothing. Satisfied, he padded through an archway into the dining room where he found a chest of silverware and emptied its contents into the pillowcase he’d brought. He was headed down the hall, looking for the master bedroom, hoping that, in the rush to make some New Year’s Eve soiree, the lady of the house had left her jewelry in plain sight, when he saw a flash of white and his head was snapped back on his neck, the bones in his face suddenly aflame. He wobbled, dropped to his knees. Then a girlish grunt and another burst of pain and all he knew was darkness.


The Typist: A Novel

The Typist is Knight’s best book yet. It reads with a combination of urgency and a quiet, rush-less pace to the novel’s slow reveal. There is not a misstep, not a mislaid sentence. I believed and breathed every single word. This book awed me.”

—Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love

The Holiday Season

“Nobody writes about the contemporary Southern upper middle class as well as Michael Knight . . . No one who purchases The Holiday Season will be disappointed.”

—John Sledge, The Mobile Register


sb_-book_coverThe Shoe Burnin': Stories of Southern Soul (2013)

The Typist: A Novel (2011)

Divining Rod: A Novel (2010)

The Holiday Season (2008)

Dogfight: And Other Stories (2007)

Goodnight, Nobody (2003)